top of page

Jared Kaimana Cantere 2021 HHSAA Boys State Cross Country Individual Champion

Updated: Dec 16, 2021


Jared Cantere, part of Maui High’s Boys Varsity Cross Country team, claimed the 2021 HHSAA Boys State Cross Country Individual Title. “I feel amazing and still shook that I took home the Individual title. I’m thankful I got to run with the best in the state,” Cantere expresses. Winning the state title is an amazing accomplishment and fortunate, especially during the pandemic since it has limited the opportunities to compete from the last cross country season.

Based on Cantere’s experience, achieving this award was not easy. “Some challenges during the course were the slippery mud hills, the cold air, the elevation, and definitely the competition. I was mentally challenged and stressed about many things,” Cantere states. Through Cantere’s hard work and dedication, he overcame these obstacles by doing practices that trained his body to take less fatigue and trained in higher elevation to adjust to the cold air and temperatures. “The training was challenging, but the one thing I kept in mind was the race. I attribute my success to my coaches and teammates the most because they were the ones who motivated me to get where I am,” Cantere adds. Jared Welch, also known as Coach Welch, is Maui High’s cross country coach and trained Cantere to be the runner he is today.

Cantere will continue cross country post-high school. “My plans are to try to get into a college with good athletics and the major I want to study. If things do not go the way I want them to go, I will be switching to road races from the mile on the road to the Marathon distance,” Cantere concluded. Overall, we wish Cantere the best of luck in his future success and endeavors in any pathway he chooses.

104 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page